The future of the left since 1884

Executive committee

We are proud to be a democratically governed, member-led society. Our executive committee is elected by all members every two years.



Sara Hyde (chair)

Sara has worked in the criminal justice system, primarily with women, for 10 years, following a first career in theatre. She has been both a parliamentary and a London Assembly candidate. She was in the inaugural Jo Cox Women in Leadership cohort.

Anneliese Dodds MP (vice-chair)

Anneliese has been Labour MP for Oxford East since 2017. She is chair of the Labour Party overseeing the party’s policy review. Anneliese was previously a member of the European parliament for the south east England region and the first woman Shadow Chancellor.

Catherine Fookes (Welsh Fabians)

Catherine Fookes is director of Women’s Equality Network (WEN) Wales. Catherine is also a school governor and an alumni of the Fabian Women’s Network mentoring scheme. Catherine is an intersectional feminist who is campaigning for equality for all women, and wants to see more Black, Asian and minority ethnic women, LGBT+ women and disabled women in positions of power in Wales.

James Prentice

Jen Hemingway

Joy Allen

Joy was elected as Police and Crime Commissioner for Durham in May 2021. Before this she was a County Councillor (2013-2021) and Cabinet Member, Town Councillor and local Mayor. She is a graduate of the Fabian Women’s Network Mentoring Programme and is currently the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners national lead for addictions and substance misuse and environment and sustainability.

Luke John Davies (local Fabian societies representative)

Luke John is the chair of Birmingham and West Midlands Fabians. He previously sat on the Young Fabians national executive and was the first chair of the Young Fabians International Network. He is a PhD student at Aston University researching changes to social democratic parties in western Europe and is a member of the FEPS Young Academic Network.

Marianna Masters


Martin Edobor

Martin is the clinical director for North Newham Primary Care Network and NHS GP. He is also the Improvement and Innovation Lead for Newham Training Hub. He is the former national Chair of the Young Fabians (2015-2016) and a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Martin McCluskey (Scottish Fabians)

Martin McCluskey is a doctoral researcher at the University of Edinburgh and a former political director of the Scottish Labour party.

Michael Marra MSP

Mike Hedges

Paul Richards

Paul Richards is the Labour & Co-operative candidate for Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC), and chair of East Sussex Co-operative Party. He has served as a special adviser, parliamentary candidate, and aide to Labour MPs. Paul is the author of several Fabian pamphlets, is a regular contributor to Fabian Review, and is a former national Chair of the Fabian Society.

Lord Kennedy

Lord Kennedy of Southwark is a Labour and Co-operative peer. Roy is chief whip in the House of Lords and a lifelong Fabian and Co-operator. He is a director of his local credit union and supports both Millwall FC and Surrey County Cricket Club.

Sarina Kiayani

Sarina works in policy and communications within the housing-with-care sector. She is currently Women’s Officer of Young Labour, Membership and Recruitment Lead for Labour in Communications, and previously sat on the Young Fabians National Executive. Sarina is actively involved in organisations and initiatives to encourage youth participation in politics.

Shahinoor Alom

Shahinoor is the Wales Public Affairs Officer for the League Against Cruel Sports. Shahinoor is also a Welsh Government appointed Youth Work Strategy Implementation Board member as well as the Deputy Secretary General for the Muslim Council of Wales. Formerly worked in the Senedd as a staff member for long serving member John Griffiths, he is passionate on issues such as young people, the need for adequate housing and promoting opportunities to assist the advancement of economic prosperity and social mobility in the UK.

Sonia Adesara

Lord Leong

Lord Sonny Leong CBE is chief executive of Civil Service College, a training provider for public sector staff, and a successful publishing, education and social enterprise entrepreneur. He is driven by two political passions – increasing minority representation and ensuring that no child is left behind in education or life opportunities. He regularly speaks on panels and writes articles on Labour’s need to increase BAME representation and engage positively with business. He was awarded a CBE for political service.

Taiwo Owatemi 

Wes Streeting MP

Wes is the Labour MP for Ilford North and shadow health and social care secretary. He was first elected in 2015 and was appointed to the shadow cabinet in May 2021. He is a former president of the NUS.

Fabian membership

Join the Fabian Society today and help shape the future of the left

You’ll receive the quarterly Fabian Review and at least four reports or pamphlets each year sent to your door

Be a part of the debate at Fabian conferences and events and join one of our network of local Fabian societies

Join the Fabian Society
Fabian Society

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.